Wingspan earns a first-place honor in best scholastic newspaper for the 28th year in a row

Laramie County Community College’s student media organization, Wingspan, received 20 awards from three national journalism organizations during the spring 2018 semester.

Wingspan was honored with a first-place award for best scholastic newspaper by the American Scholastic Press Association. This marks the 28th year in a row that Wingspan has won this honor. Wingspan also was honored for Outstanding Cover or Front Page.

The Columbia Scholastic Press Association recognized Wingspan in the following five categories:

  • Certificate of merit – General or humor commentary: Jacob Hamel.
  • Third place – Computer generated art/illustration: Isaiah Colbert and Floyd Whiting.
  • Third place – Headline writing: Jacob Hamel.
  • Third place – Photo illustration: Jacob Hamel.
  • Third place – Editorial writing: Wingspan.

Wingspan won 13 awards in the regional Mark of Excellence contest sponsored by the Society of Professional Journalists.:

  • Winner – Breaking News Reporting: Jesi Lofink.
  • Winner – In-depth reporting: Jenna Piper.
  • Winner – General column writing: Jenna Piper, Jacob Hamel and Isaiah Colbert.
  • Winner – Photo Illustration: Isaiah Colbert and Cody Fox.
  • Winner – Online/digital news videography: Jacob Hamel and Jenna Piper.
  • Finalist – Feature writing: Hannah Martin.
  • Finalist – Sports writing: Abby Morillon, Jacob Hamel and Nikole Anderson.
  • Finalist – General column writing: Isaiah Colbert and Jacob Hamel.
  • Finalist – Photo illustration: Isaiah Colbert.
  • Finalist – Sports photography: Abby Morillon and Cody Fox.
  • Finalist – Broadcast news videography: Chris Edwards, Tyler Haak, Brooke Darden and Jenna Piper.

“I had a passion for writing in high school, but Wingspan took it to the next level,” Piper said. “Learning to write is one thing, but learning how to write like a journalist has been one of the greatest feats in my education. Wingspan pushes you to your limits, but that’s why it produces award-winning journalists and I am honored to be a part of it.”

For the 2017-18 year Wingspan had five editors: Creighton Grove, Jenna Piper, Isaiah Colbert, Chris Edwards and Tyler Haak. Advisors were Jake Sherlock, Cyrus Saatsaz and Alicia Stice.

For more articles and content from Wingspan go to

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: